Beulah Adventist College is part of the ministry of the Seventh Day Adventist Church in Tonga and is located on the outskirts of Vaini.

The first European Seventh-day Adventist missionary, E. H. gates, came to Tonga in 1891. AJRead came along with him in the boat “PITCAIRN”. They arrived at the capital city, NUKU’ALOFA. They both returned without establishing the Seventh-Day Adventist Church. In 1895, E. Hilliard arrived to start up the work here at Nuku’alofa.

In the year 1895, Mrs. Hilliard commenced a small Primary School. This was the first known Seventh-day Adventist school in the Kingdom. When the student enrollment exceeded the accommodation provided at the teacher’s homes, they were moved into a separate school building – 14ft. x 24ft.

Mr. and Mrs. S. Butz came from Pitcairn Island the following year to help Mrs. Hilliard teach in this school, soon after this promising start with up to 28 students, interest flagged and the school was closed.

On November 28, 1904; Mr. Ella Boyd, from Australia restarted the school on a new piece of land acquired by the church at Mangaia, where the mission headquarters still operates. During this time the school became attractive to both Europeans and Tongans of high and low estate so that more teachers came from Australia – Nellie Sisley, Myra Ford amd Mrs. E Thorpe – to care for the growth in this school enrolment.

Name                                                Years

C.S. Palmer                                       1924-1926

Mrs. R.W. Smith (Acting)                     1926-1927

H.L.Tholhurst                                     1927

B.E. Hadfield                                      1928-1933

Acting                                               1933-1937

A.E.Watts                                          1938-1940

A.W.Martin                                        1940-1942

Paul Fua (Acting)                               1943

J.Cernik                                           1943-1950

A.H.Dawson                                      1950-1956

D.Powell                                           1956-1958

E.M.Arthur                                        1959-1963

A.Sonter                                          1964-1969

P.Trustcott                                       1970-1971

D.Edyworth                                       1972

G.Hawke                                          1973

L.Hughes                                         1974

D.Sutchliffe                                      1975-1977

N.Tausere                                       1978

D.Coldwell                                       1979-1981

T.Latu                                             1982-1987

E.Butler                                           1988

A.Mahe                                           1989-1991

H.Hansen                                        1992-1993

T.Latu                                             1994 +


A.Mahe                                           2000-2002

F.Ofa                                              2003-2004

M.Latu                                            2005-2011

S.Vaihola                                        2012

S.Masila                                         2013

M.Vaihola                                       2014+